San Gabriel Valley Dental Society


We began as part of the District of Los Angeles County Dental Society, a component of the State Dental Society, which was a constituent of ADA.  At this time, Los Angeles County was divided into five separate societies, boundaries were not an issue. The separate societies weren’t recognized by the ADA or State, they were simply known as ‘LA County’.

The five separate societies were:

  • LA

  • SG (known as the ‘Second District Dental Society’)

  • San Fernando

  • West LA

  • Harbor

In the early 1960’s each of the five areas became independent ‘components’ necessitating defining individual boundaries.  Dividing the five components caused a few battles.  Boundary lines were drawn in the middle of a street with dental offices on opposite sides of the street comprising different components. 

Finally in 1966, the Second District Dental Society officially changed its name to the San Gabriel Valley Dental Society. Our current society building was also purchased shortly thereafter in 1989 and still remains where the executive committee and board members conduct their meetings.



San Gabriel Valley Dental Society

312 E Las Tunas Dr, San Gabriel, CA 91776
Phone: (626) 285-1174
Contact SGVDS